Skip to content

The due-diligence file: what to have on record before you sign with a compounding pharmacy

As of 26 September 2026, a clinic's due-diligence file on a compounding pharmacy or sourcing platform should hold five records: who fills your orders and where that pharmacy is licensed, the security claim and its document, who answers for an order, your price terms, and the shipping and delay terms. Date each entry and keep its source.

Written by Chelsea CooperReviewed by Elizabeth WarnerUpdated 11 sourcesMethodology

What a due-diligence file is, and why a low quote is not one

As of 26 September 2026, the file to keep before signing with a compounding pharmacy or sourcing platform holds five records: who fills your orders and where that pharmacy is licensed, the security claim and its document, who answers for an order, your price terms, and the shipping and delay terms. Each entry carries its source and the date read.

The file is the record of why you chose a supplier, not a verdict on it. A quote gives you a price on a day, not who fills the order, whose license covers your state or who answers when a shipment is late.

One consultancy makes the same case. Restore Health Consulting wrote on 18 May 2026 that"structured supplier due diligence is no longer optional"Source 9, and its list of things to confirm includes supplier licensure, the FDA registration status of outsourcing facilities, and certificates of analysis with batch documentation.Source 9What a file adds is each supplier's own words, with a date.

This piece builds the file from Clinic Partner Guide'sCompounded Sourcing Platform IndexSource 1, which compares 12 sourcing platforms on 7 criteria read from each platform's own public pages, scored 31 August 2026.Source 2

The five things to have on record before you sign

  • Who fills your orders, and where that pharmacy is licensed.A multi-pharmacy marketplace, in our methodology's definition, "routes a prescription to one of several pharmacies", and "the filling pharmacy can vary by order".Source 4Record the pharmacy's name, or how it is chosen, and its license for each state you order into, checked on the issuing board's own records.
  • The security or verification claim, and the document behind it.Copy the claim word for word, with its URL and the date read. Then ask for the certificate, report or standard it refers to.
  • Who is accountable for an order.Write down who you contract with, who you contact about a problem order, and how a problem is escalated. Get it in writing.
  • Your price terms.Record the unit price at your expected volume, every fee (setup, monthly, per order), the payment terms and the terms document you accept. As ourpricing transparency pageSource 5puts it, "A published list price is not the same as the price you will pay at volume".Source 5
  • Shipping, tracking and delay notice.Record how orders ship to your clinic, how you track them and how you will hear about a delay. If a supplier states a fulfillment time, keep its exact words and the date; if it states none, note that too. Ourturnaround pageSource 6compares which platforms publish one.

What the index shows about these five things

Five of the index's 7 criteria map onto this file: multi-state coverage, security posture, direct accountability, pricing transparency and turnaround.Source 2Of the 84 criterion cells (7 criteria, 12 platforms, scored 31 August 2026), 12 are not stated.Source 2We first reported this inour open-data analysisSource 11on 19 September 2026; it holds on the 26 September 2026 re-read.Source 2All 12 gaps sit in three of the file's five items:

Shipping and delay terms (turnaround, 10% weight): not stated for 6 of 12 platforms (scored 31 August 2026) — AutoPilotRx, Ironsail Pharma / ImpetusOne, Peptide Association Pharmacy Directory, Find My Chemist, Find My Compounder and the APC / A4PC Pharmacy Locator.Source 2

Price terms (pricing transparency, 20% weight): not stated for 5 of 12 platforms — VitaRelay, Ironsail Pharma / ImpetusOne, CLR RX, Find My Compounder and the APC / A4PC Pharmacy Locator.Source 2

Security claim (security posture, 10% weight): not stated for 1 of 12 platforms, Ironsail Pharma / ImpetusOne ("Nothing published on the public site.").Source 2

4 of the 6 turnaround gaps are directories, which take no order, so our record marks turnaround not applicable or not published.Source 2

Criteria evidenced, the share of criteria weight a platform published enough on to be scored, runs from 60% to 100% across the 12, with a mean of 85.8% (our calculation).Source 2Under ourmethodologySource 4, an unaddressed criterion "is excluded from its weighted average rather than scored zero", so read the evidence share beside any score.Source 4

Clear answers do exist. Our record notes that AutoPilotRx states "30 plus vetted 503A pharmacies with state licensing shown per pharmacy", and that CompoundingFinder states "licensed U.S. compounding pharmacies with licensing verified before options are presented".Source 2Neither replaces checking the license yourself.

What each publishes, not a verdict on service.In the methodology's words, a low transparency score "is a statement about its disclosure and not about its service".Source 4

To start your own file, download the index asCSVSource 3orJSONSource 2, free under CC BY 4.0; each row carries a reason sentence for every criterion and the date the pages were read.

Reading a security or accreditation claim

Security posture checks, in the index's definition, "Secure script handling, credential checks, provider-only access."Source 211 of the 12 records publish something on it, scored 31 August 2026.Source 2Among them: a security page or section (Fizy Health, VitaRelay), a Trust section (CLR RX), a licensing check before options are shown (CompoundingFinder), and accreditation status with a "How We Verify" standard (Peptide Association Pharmacy Directory).Source 2

A claim on a page is a sentence, not a record. For the file, get the document it refers to, and note who issued it, which company it names, when it was issued and when it expires. Where the issuer offers a public lookup, check there and date the check.

Accreditation can also be searched: the Peptide Association Pharmacy Directory states 397 listed pharmacies, 303 of them PCAB accredited, as our record shows.Source 2That is its count, not one Clinic Partner Guide has verified.

What each publishes, not a verdict on service.

Turning a gap into a question for your next sales call

  • A gap in a supplier's public pages is the first question on the call. Get the answer in writing.
  • No pricing that could be scored (5 of 12, scored 31 August 2026):ask what you will pay per unit at your monthly volume, and which fees apply at setup, per month and per order. Keep on file: the written quote and the terms page, dated.Source 2
  • Nothing on turnaround that could be scored (6 of 12):ask how you track an order once it ships, and who contacts whom if it is late. Keep on file: the answer by email or in the agreement.Source 2
  • Nothing on security posture (1 of 12):ask how prescriptions and clinic credentials are handled, and what document describes it. Keep on file: the document, its issuer and its date.Source 2
  • Orders routed to pharmacies in a network (6 of 12: the 5 marketplaces and the buying network):ask which pharmacy will fill your order, how is it chosen, and where can you see its license for your state. Keep on file: pharmacy name, license numbers, date checked.Source 2
  • The service ends at an introduction (5 of 12: the 4 directories and the quote engine):put every question above to the pharmacy you choose, because you will deal with it directly. Keep on file: the pharmacy's own terms.Source 2
  • For any supplier, add one more: who do I contact about a problem order, and how is it escalated? A printable companion checklist, built from this file, is free to use: [supplier due-diligence checklist](/research/supplier-due-diligence-checklist/).

What this file does not cover

This file covers commercial and operational records only. Clinic Partner Guide does not assess clinical quality, formulations or outcomes. Those questions belong with your prescribers, your pharmacist and your own counsel.

The record is also a snapshot: "Scores are a snapshot of published information on the date shown."Source 4Re-read the supplier's own page on the day you sign, and date the copy you keep.

Regulatory context, for clinics whose orders include compounded GLP-1s: FDA's shortage listings for tirzepatide (December 2024) and semaglutide (February 2025) have ended, and FDA has since acted against marketing of compounded GLP-1s; what a 503A pharmacy may compound is patient-specific and varies by state. Source: fda.gov, "FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize", read 2026-09-26.Source 10

Questions clinics ask

What should be in a clinic's compounding-pharmacy due-diligence file?

Five records, each with its source page and the date read: who fills your orders and where that pharmacy is licensed; the security claim and its document; who is accountable for an order; your price terms in writing; and the shipping, tracking and delay terms.

How do I check if a compounding sourcing platform publishes its state licensing?

Read its own pages for a state list or per-pharmacy licensing, then check each license on the issuing board's records. In Clinic Partner Guide's index (scored 31 August 2026), AutoPilotRx's record reads "state licensing shown per pharmacy", while Fizy Health's and VitaRelay's records state that no state count is published.Source 2See themulti-state coverage pageSource 7.

What does it mean if a platform publishes nothing about pricing or turnaround?

The answer is not on its public pages, which says nothing about the service itself. Scored 31 August 2026, 5 of 12 platforms publish nothing on pricing that could be scored and 6 of 12 nothing on turnaround.Source 2Ask directly and keep the answer in writing.

Is a security certification claim enough on its own?

Not for a file. Ask for the certificate or report itself, note who issued it, which company it names and its dates, and check it with the issuer where a public lookup exists.

Does Clinic Partner Guide have a commercial relationship with any platform in this article?

Sources

  1. 1Compounded Sourcing Platform Indexclinicpartnerguide.com
    Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  2. Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  3. Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  4. 4Methodology, v1.0clinicpartnerguide.com
    Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  5. Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  6. Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  7. Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  8. 8Commercial disclosureclinicpartnerguide.com
    Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved
  9. 9Compounded medication due diligencerestorehealthconsulting.com
    Industry publicationRestore Health ConsultingRetrieved

    "structured supplier due diligence is no longer optional"

  10. Regulatory / governmentU.S. Food and Drug AdministrationRetrieved
  11. Official primary sourceClinic Partner GuideRetrieved

What each 503A pharmacy partner publishes about pricing

There is no standard 503A compounding pharmacy price for clinics, and the reason is disclosure rather than variation alone: of the 12 sourcing platforms in this index, one publishes actual clinic rates. The rest either describe how pricing works without saying what it costs, or publish nothing about price and quote only after a call. Read as at 2026-08-31.

Each platform in the index, what it discloses about clinic pricing, and the pricing transparency score that follows from it, as at 2026-08-31
PlatformClinic pricingWhat is published
Avanta Pharma GroupRates publishedPublishes per-vial list prices (semaglutide 2 mL from $65, tirzepatide from $60), three volume tiers (up to 24, 25 plus, 100 plus) and an on-site price comparison calculator; states repeat volume is quoted case by case.
AutoPilotRxModel only, no ratesStates pricing, state licensing and formularies are comparable in-portal and free for providers. No per-clinic negotiated pricing is stated.
Fizy HealthModel only, no ratesStates pass-through pricing and zero platform fee. Pass-through is the pharmacy price rather than a per-clinic negotiated rate.
The Banyan NetworkModel only, no ratesPublishes negotiated per-partner rates, net-30 terms, no membership or joining fees, and an all-inclusive definition covering medication, supplies, dispensing fees and shipping. States that rates depend on category, volume and partner, and are fixed in the agreement before a first order. No rate card or tiers are published.
CompoundingFinderModel only, no ratesCompares pharmacies by price, turnaround, shipping and inactive ingredients, free and with no obligation.
Peptide Association Pharmacy DirectoryModel only, no ratesStates price ranges are tracked alongside accreditation and compounds.
Find My ChemistModel only, no ratesInvites submitted prices and shows price information, but not provider-negotiated rates.
VitaRelayNothing publishedNo pricing is published; entry is book a call.
Ironsail Pharma / ImpetusOneNothing publishedNo pricing is published; the product sits behind a demo.
CLR RXNothing publishedNo pricing is published; entry is a private demo request.
Find My CompounderNothing publishedNo pricing is published.
APC / A4PC Pharmacy LocatorNothing publishedNo pricing is published.

Pricing shown is what each provider published at the time we recorded it and may change. Actual pricing varies by product, formulation, order volume, shipping, pharmacy, location and commercial terms. Confirm current pricing directly with the provider.

One email a month, listing every score that changed and why. A month where nothing changed gets no email.

Your address, the page you signed up from, and nothing else. No name, no tracking. See the privacy policy.